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A short guide to the steps, timing and cost of forming a  
Delaware corporation or limited liability company.

FORM A CORPORATION IN 4 STEPS: 

“The biggest, 
brightest and fasting-
growing companies 
are incorporated in 
Delaware. The State’s 
infrastructure, courts 
and laws create an 
environment for  
success and growth  
that investors can trust.”

Jeff Bullock
Delaware Secretary of State

CHOOSE A BUSINESS NAME 
Check online to see if the company name you want is available. 
You can reserve the name online for a $75 fee.

APPOINT A REGISTERED AGENT 
Delaware requires that you appoint a registered agent to receive 
service of process and other state correspondence on behalf of 
your company.  
 
You can act as your own agent if you have a Delaware address 
(as opposed to a post office box). You can appoint someone else, 
such as your attorney or your accountant, or use a registered 
agent service company. The cost for a registered agent service 
company can range from $50 to more than $300. You can find a 
list of registered agent service companies here.

COMPLETE A CERTIFICATE OF INCORPORATION 
Delaware’s Certificate of Incorporation requires the name of the 
corporation, the name and address of its registered agent, the 
purpose of the corporation, and the total number of shares the 
corporation is authorized to issue. You can find a draft certificate 
here. The standard fee for filing the Certificate of Incorporation in 
Delaware is $89. Processing time for a standard filing is generally 
measured in days, rather than weeks or months. Expedited filing is 
available for overnight or even same-day service, for an additional 
fee.

REMAIN IN GOOD STANDING 
All Delaware corporations are required to file an annual report and 
to pay a franchise tax. The annual report filing fee for all Delaware 
corporations is $50. The franchise tax is assessed according to 
the number of authorized shares. For corporations with 5,000 
or less authorized shares the minimum tax is $175. You can find 
more information on how to calculate your annual franchise tax 
here. Payment is due by March 1 every year. Corporations have the 
option to pay online. 
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https://icis.corp.delaware.gov/Ecorp/EntitySearch/NameSearch.aspx
https://icis.corp.delaware.gov/Ecorp/NameReserv/NameReservation.aspx
http://corp.delaware.gov/agents/agts.shtml
http://www.corp.delaware.gov/incstk.pdf
http://corp.delaware.gov/frtaxcalc.shtml
https://corp.delaware.gov/paytaxes.shtml
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FORM AN LLC IN 4 STEPS: 

OBTAIN AN EIN OR ITIN 
You must obtain a federal Employer Identification Number (EIN) 
or Individual Tax Identification Number (ITIN) from the Internal 
Revenue Service if you plan to hire employees or open a bank 
account in your company’s name.

OPEN A BANK ACCOUNT
A U.S. banker may ask to see your organizational documents, 
such as a certificate of incorporation, in order to verify the name 
and nature of your business. You will also need to provide proof 
that your business is registered with the IRS, and that you are 
authorized to open the account.

ADDITIONAL CONSIDERATIONS:

CHOOSE A BUSINESS NAME 
Check online to see if the company name you want is available. 
You can reserve the name for a $75 fee.

APPOINT A REGISTERED AGENT 
Delaware requires that you appoint a registered agent to receive 
service of process and other state correspondence on behalf of 
your company.  
 
You can act as your own agent if you have a Delaware address 
(as opposed to a post office box). You can appoint someone else, 
such as your attorney or your accountant, or use a registered 
agent service company. The cost for a registered agent service 
company can range from $50 to more than $300. You can find a 
list of registered agent service companies here.

COMPLETE AND FILE A CERTIFICATE OF FORMATION 
Delaware’s Certificate of Formation includes the name of the LLC, 
the name and address of its registered agent, and any other infor-
mation that the members choose to include. You can find a draft 
certificate here. The standard filing fee for forming a Delaware LLC 
is $90. Processing time for standard filing is generally measured in 
days, rather than weeks or months. Expedited filing is available for 
overnight or even same-day service.

REMAIN IN GOOD STANDING 
Delaware LLCs are required to pay an annual alternative entity tax 
of $300. Payment is due by June 1 every year. You have the option 
to pay your alternative entity tax online.
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“Delaware Limited 
Liability Companies 
offer owners and 
managers around the 
world broad contractual 
flexibility, protection 
from personal liability, 
and the certainty of a 
market-tested statute.”

Robert L. Symonds, Jr. and 
Matthew J. O’Toole, 
Partners at Potter Anderson & 
Corroon LLP
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https://icis.corp.delaware.gov/Ecorp/EntitySearch/NameSearch.aspx
http://corp.delaware.gov/agents/agts.shtml
http://corp.delaware.gov/llcform09.pdf
https://corp.delaware.gov/paytaxes.shtml
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